Funeral Services

Houston Funeral Homes & Cremation Providers

Research local options in Houston, then request help identifying a funeral or cremation provider serving the area.

Houston Provider Research
20 source-reviewed providers

About this service

Lantern currently tracks 20 Houston-area funeral and cremation providers whose direct-cremation price can be traced to a provider-owned website or General Price List. This is a research directory, not a ranking, endorsement, or complete list of every funeral home in Houston.

Houston Research Status

This directory currently includes 20 Houston-area providers with provider-owned direct-cremation pricing evidence. Inclusion is research-based, not a ranking, endorsement, or partner relationship.

Houston provider research

20 Houston-area providers with provider-owned direct-cremation pricing

This directory is built from the same source-reviewed records used in Lantern's Houston price research. Inclusion here means Lantern found a provider-owned source publishing a direct-cremation price. It does not mean Lantern endorses the provider, has a business relationship with it, or has independently verified every service, license, availability claim, or package term.

Use this page to shortlist providersCompare source quality, package detail and published price, then confirm service area and availability directly.
Compare all package details

Harris County Cremation

Starting at $590

Detailed package evidence

Provider page publishes Houston and surrounding counties direct cremation starting at $590. The page separately lists additional circumstance-specific fees.

Published price$590
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider pricing page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included

Weight

Base fee increases to $1,990 for 275-475 lb

What could change the final price?

Provider separately lists: medical-examiner cremation permit $25; permit fee $350; administration fee $350; mailing cremated remains $175; additional death certificates $4 each; $3/mile over 25 miles; storage/refrigeration after three days of non-payment $200/day; expedited direct cremation $250; expedited death certificate $150; 3.5% card fee; insurance-assignment pricing/processing terms. Because the page also says necessary cremation permits are included, Lantern does not treat the separately listed permit fees as universally applicable.

Just Cremation Texas

Greater Houston Simple Cremation $695

Detailed package evidence

Provider Houston page publishes a $695 Greater Houston package and itemizes included services.

Published price$695
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider Houston pricing page
License evidenceProvider-declared license evidence stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included; private family viewing offered as an additional item

Weight

Oversized fees may apply over 300 lb

What could change the final price?

Private family viewing, shipping cremated remains, extra death certificates at $4 each, upgraded/additional urns, and oversized fees above 300 lb are listed as additional items.

Birdsong Cremations

In The Moment package $895

Detailed package evidence

Published package includes basic services, transfer, refrigeration, crematory fee up to stated weight limit, alternative container, and temporary urn; additional charges may apply.

Published price$895
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider pricing page / GPL-referenced
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included

Weight

Crematory fee included up to 250 lb

What could change the final price?

Final cost can change for transportation distance, weight, certified death certificates, medical-examiner requirements, implanted-device removal, delivery, memorial products, or selected services.

Graceful Memorial Chapel

Direct Cremation $895

Detailed package evidence

Provider publishes a $895 direct-cremation package with itemized inclusions; package pricing effective January 2, 2026.

Published price$895
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider service-packages page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included/stated in direct-cremation package

Weight

not stated on source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Provider separately publishes a $995 Cremation Urn Package with one death certificate and colonial urn, a $1,295 Veterans Cremation Package, and $1,495 Cremation with ID View.

Leal Funeral Home

Direct cremation $895 and up

Moderate package evidence

Provider publishes a starting price and listed inclusions; plus sign indicates price can increase.

Published price$895
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider pricing page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not stated as included in direct-cremation summary

Weight

not stated on source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Provider publishes direct cremation at $895 and up. Current site states cemetery plot, headstone, vault, and certified death certificates are billed separately by the cemetery in its broader burial-cost discussion; the direct-cremation summary itself explicitly says two certified death certificates are included.

LoveStrong Cremation Center

Direct Cremation starting at $895

Moderate package evidence

Provider publishes an $895 direct-cremation package with itemized inclusions.

Published price$895
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider pricing page
License evidenceSome regulator corroboration stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included in $895 direct-cremation package

Weight

Cremation process included up to 250 lb

What could change the final price?

Provider pricing page says certain care homes/residences, nursing homes, assisted-living facilities and hospitals without climate-controlled facilities require immediate transportation with a $300 fee. Viewing packages and other upgrades are separately priced.

Meadow Memorials

Basic Cremation $995

Detailed package evidence

Provider Houston page publishes a $995 Basic plan and common inclusions across its cremation plans.

Published price$995
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider Houston pricing page
License evidenceProvider-declared license evidence stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not stated as included in Basic plan

Weight

Private cremation included up to 250 lb

What could change the final price?

Signature plan $1,295. Scattering at sea $350. 3% credit-card processing fee; no debit-card fee. Provider states an additional fee may apply outside its service area.

Respect of Life Funeral Home

Direct Cremation $995

Moderate package evidence

Provider publishes direct cremation at $995 with package inclusions and circumstance-specific fees.

Published price$995
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider cremation-packages page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included in direct-cremation package; separate ID-viewing package $1,495

Weight

Additional fees over 300 lb

What could change the final price?

Medical-examiner cases: $50 cremation permit. Oversized and autopsy cases additional. Insurance assignments add 10%; credit-card payments add 3.5%. Cemetery, police escorts, limo, newspaper obituary and cash advances are not included.

Ridgemont Memorials

Cremation Services starting at $995

Detailed package evidence

Provider website publishes cremation services starting at $995.

Published price$995
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider website
License evidenceProvider-declared license evidence stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included; ID viewing is additional

Weight

Base $995 package applies through 250 lb; 251-300 lb $1,295; 301-350 lb $1,695; 351-400 lb $2,095

What could change the final price?

ID viewing is additional. Published Simple Cremation weight tiers: 251-300 lb $1,295; 301-350 lb $1,695; 351-400 lb $2,095.

C. A. Dixon III & Sons Funeral Home

Direct cremation $1,025 with purchaser-provided merchandise

Moderate package evidence

Provider-hosted GPL publishes a direct-cremation range of $1,025-$1,295. Lantern normalizes the lowest published option, $1,025 with merchandise/container provided by purchaser. No effective date was captured from the accessible GPL text, so this record requires normal freshness monitoring.

Published price$1,025
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider-hosted General Price List PDF
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

without attendant rites or ceremonies

Weight

not stated on source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Provider GPL publishes direct cremation with purchaser-provided merchandise at $1,025, with alternative container at $1,225, and a $175 additional charge for staff/facility use for partial ceremonies, body donations, or other items not included.

After Cremation TX2

Base direct cremation $1,170

Detailed package evidence

Houston GPL for After Cremation TX2, LLC, license #4905, effective July 21, 2026. Base direct cremation is $1,170 with family-provided or minimum alternative container.

Published price$1,170
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider General Price List
License evidenceProvider-declared license evidence stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

without ceremony; ID viewing separately priced

Weight

container/handling included under 200 lb; published handling fees begin at 200 lb

What could change the final price?

$4.50/mile outside 25 miles; weight handling $50 at 200-250 lb, $200 at 250-300, $500 at 300-350, $800 at 350-400, $1,500 at 400-600; pacemaker removal $95; additional refrigeration $75/day; ID viewing, delivery and other add-ons separately priced.

Houston Texas Funeral Home

Direct cremation $1,290

Limited package detail

Provider website publishes a direct-cremation package price.

Published price$1,290
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider website
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

not confirmed for direct-cremation package from source reviewed

Viewing

not stated on source reviewed

Weight

not stated on source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Provider publishes direct cremation at $1,290 but does not itemize the package sufficiently for a normalized inclusion comparison.

Claire Brothers Funeral Home

Direct Cremation $1,295

Detailed package evidence

Provider publishes package pricing effective January 2, 2026 with detailed direct-cremation inclusions.

Published price$1,295
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider cremation-pricing page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included; ID-view package separately $1,495

Weight

Package pricing based on up to 300 lb

What could change the final price?

Obituary notice, motorcycle escorts, death certificates, weekend/holiday fee if applicable, and transportation beyond 50 miles are additional. Provider states package prices effective January 2, 2026.

Houston Cremation

Simple Elegance cremation $1,295

Moderate package evidence

Provider lists standard package inclusions and circumstance-specific weight charges. Identity note: houstoncremation.com identifies the operating provider as Integrity Funeral Care. Older FrontRunner mirrors still expose obsolete $995 pricing, while the current canonical pricing page publishes $1,295; Lantern uses the current canonical page.

Published price$1,295
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider pricing page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not included in $1,295 package

Weight

Additional charges apply at 250 lb and above, starting at $200

What could change the final price?

Additional death certificates $4 each. Additional charges start at 250 lb. Memorial service $500; VA Houston National Cemetery placement/coordination $200; crematory witness $500; preparation/embalming and other optional items are separately priced.

Beresford Funeral Home

Direct Cremation starting at $1,595

Limited package detail

Current provider page publishes Direct Cremation Plan $1,595. A linked older direct-cremation PDF also states $1,595 with a basic cremation container; because the PDF is old, Lantern does not use it as evidence that other package terms remain current.

Published price$1,595
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider package/pricing page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

not confirmed for current direct-cremation plan

Viewing

not stated as included

Weight

not stated on current source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Current page confirms $1,595 Direct Cremation Plan but does not fully itemize current inclusions. Lantern treats older linked package paperwork as supporting context, not current proof for unlisted inclusions.

McDuffie Mortuary

Direct Cremation $1,770

Limited package detail

Provider package page publishes direct cremation at $1,770, itemized as cremation $1,395 plus pickup $375. No effective date is visible on the reviewed page.

Published price$1,770
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider cremation-packages page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

not stated/included in direct-cremation package

Weight

not stated on source reviewed

What could change the final price?

Provider itemizes direct cremation as $1,395 cremation plus $375 pickup, total $1,770, and explicitly states death certificates are not included.

Angelus Mortuary Cremation Center

Direct Cremation $1,895

Limited package detail

Current provider GPL page publishes Direct Cremation $1,895 but does not itemize which separately listed GPL charges are included in that line.

Published price$1,895
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider General Price List page
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

not stated as included in the $1,895 direct-cremation line

Viewing

not stated as included; GPL separately lists visitation at $295

Weight

not stated on this provider GPL page

What could change the final price?

GPL separately lists removal $450, visitation $295, funeral ceremony $500, and urn prices from $150. Lantern does not add those line items to $1,895 or assume they are included without package-level clarification.

Unity Funeral Home

Direct cremation $1,900 with purchaser-provided container

Detailed package evidence

Unity's current provider GPL page links this GPL, effective February 15, 2025. Lantern normalizes the lowest published direct-cremation option, $1,900 with a qualifying purchaser-provided container; the provider alternative-container option is $1,950.

Published price$1,900
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider-hosted General Price List
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

direct cremation is without viewing or ceremony

Weight

direct-cremation section does not state a weight threshold

What could change the final price?

3% credit-card fee; 5% insurance-assignment fee with $125 minimum; $2.25 per one-way mile beyond 50 miles; refrigeration after 7 days $50/day; medical-examiner cremation authorization $20 when required; certified death certificates charged at estimated county rates.

Advantage Funeral & Cremation Services

Direct cremation $2,210 with purchaser-provided container

Moderate package evidence

Current provider GPL effective January 20, 2026 publishes direct cremation from $2,210 with purchaser-provided qualifying container and itemized inclusions.

Published price$2,210
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider General Price List
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

direct cremation is without ceremony; viewing not listed as included

Weight

not stated on reviewed GPL direct-cremation section

What could change the final price?

Provider GPL lists direct-cremation options including $2,355 with Deluxe Cremation Container, $2,605 with Trayview, $2,660 with Stratus, and $3,405 with Pacific Pine. Prices subject to change without notice.

Forest Park Lawndale Funeral Home

Direct cremation $3,670 with purchaser-provided container

Moderate package evidence

Provider GPL publishes direct cremation from $3,670 with purchaser-provided qualifying container and explicitly lists core inclusions.

Published price$3,670
Source checked2026-10-02
Source typeprovider General Price List
License evidenceIndependent license evidence not stored
Transfer

included

Viewing

direct cremation is without ceremony; viewing not listed as included

Weight

not stated on reviewed direct-cremation section

What could change the final price?

Provider GPL lists $3,865 with cardboard container, $4,065 with Trayview, $4,120 with Stratus, and $4,865 with Pacific Pine. Other merchandise/casket selections can increase total.

How to choose a Houston funeral or cremation provider

1

Confirm they serve the exact location

A Houston-area price does not prove the provider will serve every hospital, residence, facility, county, or pickup location without additional mileage or transfer charges.

2

Ask for the current written price

Use Lantern's source as a research starting point, then ask the provider to confirm its current General Price List or written package price and what is included for the specific case.

3

Ask about circumstance-specific charges

Weight, distance, refrigeration, medical-examiner circumstances, implanted-device removal, death certificates, permits, payment method and selected merchandise can affect the total.

4

Verify licensing independently

Lantern distinguishes provider-declared license information from regulator-corroborated evidence. Before relying on a license claim, use the Texas Funeral Service Commission's current license-search tools.

Why some Houston funeral homes are not listed

This is not a complete directory of every funeral home in Houston. Lantern currently includes providers only when we can trace an exact direct-cremation price to a provider-owned website or General Price List. A provider may be legitimate and appropriate even if it is absent here. Providers whose current price could only be found through third-party directories were deliberately excluded from this dataset.

Research checked 2026-10-02. Prices and availability can change. Confirm current terms directly with the provider.

Explore other options in Houston

More Texas Locations

Explore funeral services research in the geographically closest Lantern markets.

Frequently Asked Questions in Texas

What are the legal requirements in Texas?

Requirements vary by jurisdiction and circumstances. Lantern is rebuilding state guidance from verified sources. Confirm the applicable requirements with the licensed provider handling the case.

How do I know whether a provider serves my area?

Service areas and transportation limits vary by provider. Ask the provider to confirm that it serves the exact location of the deceased and whether mileage or transfer charges apply.

How can I avoid unexpected charges?

Ask for the provider's current General Price List and confirm what is included in the quoted price, transportation limits, third-party cash advances, authorizations, death certificates, and circumstance-specific charges.